I’m Heartbroken!

I’ve been curious about love and its uneven distribution since I was a toddler. Mind you, I’m not talking of parental or platonic love, I’m talking about love of the regular kind. The kind of love which leads to an eruption here and there. The kind which is associated with sensual desire and longing (really!). I don’t even know which chemicals are responsible for this behavior. I was never good at chemistry.

I’ve had a crush on countless girls since I was in 4th grade. I was extremely shy in most of the cases, and by the time I got a hang of what was happening, the volcano would have already erupted elsewhere. My bad! Countless hours invested in teenage while reading magazines and forums about the techniques that mattered (or flattered). I won’t even go into the details. They’re not fun anyways. It was more of a mental yanking/spanking when I think of it now.

Yeah, there were instances where I faced rejection of sorts. They’re ugly. I felt low. I was perhaps ridiculed in front of myself. But, they altered me somewhat. I was up for bigger rejections. I learned to laugh at myself and move on. As they say, I was growing comfortable under my skin. The radiance around was beautiful.

I'm heartbroken.

Flowers don’t always bloom, my bway!

There were some takeaways indeed when I think of it. It’s funny how much you can extract even from the poo-poo situations once you decide to be a little more positive!

  1. How to fail. This is one of the best ways to learn about failure. Silent and quick. No dogs get hurt. Yet, learning to fail is one of the best things you can do to yourself. It keeps you humble and sane.
  2. Time cures. Sometimes, it seemed that the world would crumble under my weight. But I realized that things are not as bad as they seem, and wounds do heal with time. I moved on to another ‘token of love’ after a crash at the base-camp. Bingo!
  3. How to ask. Most of the people make false assumptions and lose out on major things in life, just ’cause they don’t ask! It never hurts to try. Or maybe it can hurt in some cases. Who knows? You define what’s at stake.
  4. Competition. It made me gauge the level of competition quite early on in my life. You need to constantly outgrow yourself, and bloom while being immersed in some imaginary goo all the while. Urghh!
  5. How to sell myself. We need to sell ourselves all our lives. To professors, to customers, to our bosses, to almost everyone. When I got rejected, I had an opportunity to reevaluate my approach and make slight changes here and there. Maybe I need an MBA after all for dallying the right way.
  6. To smile in adversities. This one is self-explanatory. You need to pick up your shit and get running. Life is too grand to wait  for a few minor hiccups. One excellent bowel movement, and all my sour memories are a thing of past.

You’ll always miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.

Perhaps Michael Jordan said it most rightly pound-on-pound. Bang on, dude!

Posted by: Rohit Gupta

Leave a Reply

